مجلس الإدارة التقي صناع القرار لدينا

د. محمد أحمد العامر

رئيس مجلس الإدارة
2019-2014

تم تعيين الدكتور العامر في مارس 2014 بمرسوم ملكي رئيسا للهيئة الوطنية لعلوم الفضاء (NSSA) وهي هيئة تنفيذية مسؤولة عن برنامج علوم الفضاء لمملكة البحرين، كما أنها مسؤولة عن تنسيق جميع أنشطة برنامج الفضاء المدني والإشراف عليها. تستند الهيئة الوطنية لعلوم الفضاء على الاعتراف بأهمية البحث والتطوير حيث أنها تدعم البحث العلمي المُساهم بمردود اقتصادي حقيقي مثل تطوير تقنيات فريدة ومبتكرة. وعلاوة على ذلك، تقوم فلسفة الهيئة بالمشاركة في قطاع الفضاء بما يسهم في اقتصاد مملكة البحرين، وتعزيز مكانتها الدولية بما يفيد مصلحة شعبها والمقيمين بها في شتى المجالات مثل استخدام الأراضي والزراعة والاتصالات وكشف الملوثات البيئية والبحوث.

د. محمد أحمد العامر هو الرئيس السابق للجهاز المركزي للمعلومات (CIO)ويشغل حاليا منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة هيئة تنظيم الاتصالات، ومنذ تخرجه كمهندس نظم ، تمكن الدكتور العامر تدريجياً من اكتساب مجموعة واسعة من المهارات والخبرات في عدد من مجالات التكنولوجيا والأعمال، وقد كان له دور فعال في إدخال العديد من المبادرات على مستوى الدولة مثل سجل السكان المركزي (CPR)، وشبكة البيانات الحكومية (GDN)، ومشروع البطاقة الذكية الوطنية واستراتيجية حكومة البحرين الإلكترونية، وغيرها من المبادرات ذات الصلة.

في المجال الفضائي، تولى الدكتور العامر – بموجب رئاسته للجهاز المركزي للمعلومات – رئاسة اللجنة الوطنية لنظم المعلومات الجغرافية (NGISC) التي أنشئت في عام 2004 بموجب قرار من صاحب السمو الملكي رئيس وزراء مملكة البحرين، وقد تألفت اللجنة من كبار المسؤولين الحكوميين ومنظمات القطاع الخاص المكلفة بالإشراف على إنشاء قاعدة المعلومات الجغرافية الوطنية (BSDI)، وتطوير نظم المعلومات الجغرافية المتكاملة. قامت اللجنة بتطوير نظام إدارة تراخيص خدمات البنى التحتية (E-Wayleave) الذي يوفر نظام معالجة سريع لمشروعات الحفر الكبيرة والمتوسطة التي كانت تحتاج في السابق لتراخيص من العديد من الجهات الخدمية. ويعتمد نظام المعلومات الجغرافية بالكامل على صور الأقمار الصناعية عالية الجودة التي يتم الحصول عليها من خلال مزودي السواتل التجارية.

على صعيد المسؤولية الاجتماعية، خدم الدكتور العامر أطول فترة (1994-2002) كرئيس لجمعية البحرين لتقنية المعلومات (BITS)، وهي منظمة مهنية غير ربحية ذات أهداف رئيسية لتعزيز مهنة تقنية المعلومات في مملكة البحرين بالإضافة إلى محو أمية تقنية المعلومات من عامة الناس. تم انتخاب الدكتور العامر في يناير عام 2018 كرئيس لجمعية مدينة البحرين الذكية التي أنشئت حديثا بهدف المساهمة في بناء مجتمع ذكي وشامل.

ASK RAED
Scroll Up
X

Profile

Dr. Mohammed A. Al Amer

Chairman

Dr. Al Amer was appointed In June 2008 by a Royal Decree for a four-year term as the Chairman of the Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (TRA). His tenure as the chairman was renewed in 2012 by a Royal Decree. The TRA is an independent statutory body and its duties and powers include protecting the interests of subscribers and users, and promoting effective and fair competition among established and new licensed telecom operators.

In March 2014, a Royal Decree also appointed Dr. Al Amer for a four-year term as the Chairman of the National Space Science Agency (NSSA). NSSA is an executive agency responsible for the space science program for the Kingdom of Bahrain. It is responsible for the coordination and supervision of all the activities of the civilian space program. NSSA is based on the recognition of the importance of research and development.  The Agency supports scientific research and development with real economic potential, such as the development of unique and innovative technologies. Moreover, the Agency’s philosophy is that involvement in the space sector contributes to Bahrain’s economy, strengthens its international standing and benefits its residents in areas such as land use, agriculture, communications, detection of environmental contaminants and research.

Mohammed A. Al Amer (PhD) is the ex-President of the Central Informatics Organization (CIO). CIO contributes to enhancing the quality of life for Bahraini citizens through comprehensive, secure, accurate and timely information and services. CIO has become part of iGA after its merger with the e-Government Agency (eGA).

Ever since his graduation as a Systems Engineer, he has progressively assembled a broad spectrum of skills and experience in a number of technology and business areas. He has been instrumental in the introduction of many nation-wide initiatives such as the Central Population Register (CPR), the Government Data Network (GDN), the National Smart Card project and the Bahrain e-Government Strategy, much of it are interrelated.

In the space field context, Dr. Al Amer being the President of CIO, has assumed the Chair of the National GIS Committee (NGISC) that was established in 2004 by a Resolution from H.R.H. the Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Bahrain. The Committee was comprised of senior government and private organizations officials with a mandate to oversee the establishment of the Bahrain Spatial Data Infrastructure (BSDI), the National Geographic Information Database, and to develop integrated GIS systems. The Committee has developed the E-Wayleave clearance system that provides an expedited clearance processing system for large and medium excavation utility projects that previously needed approvals from several service agencies to start any excavation project that could take up to several months and now takes five days at the most. The Wayleave project provides a complete electronic solution for the concerned service entities such as Electricity and Water Authority, Ministry of Works, Telecommunications Regulatory Authority, Bahrain Telecom Company (BATELCO), Tatweer Petroleum, and other public and private entities. The whole GIS system relies on very high quality satellite images acquired through commercial satellite providers.

On the social responsibility front, Dr. Al Amer has served the longest term (1994-2002) as the President of the Bahrain Information Technology Society (BITS), a non-profit professional organisation with main objectives of promoting the computer and IT profession in Bahrain, and to improving IT literacy of the general public. He has also been elected in January 2018 as the Chairman of the newly established Bahrain Smart City Society with an aim to contribute in building on smart and inclusive Society for our beloved nation.

Scroll Up
X